‘Get Out,’ ‘Lady Bird,’ And ‘The Shape Of Water’ Receive Writers Guild Award Nominations

Two days before Seth Meyers takes the Golden Globes stage, the Writers' Guild of America has revealed their nominees for the 2018 Writers Guild Awards.

Original Screenplay Nominees

Several high profile names will face off in the Original Screenplay category. Greta Gerwig, who wrote and directed the critically acclaimed Lady Bird, received a nomination. The American Film Institute named Gerwig's directorial debut one of the top ten films of 2017 and the New York Film Critics Circle Awards named Lady Bird its Best Picture of 2017. Another New York Film Critics Circle Award winner, Jordan Peele, found himself in the running for the Original Screenplay award. Peele has been receiving accolades for his haunting horror film, Get Out, which focused on Chris (Daniel Kaluuya)'s meeting with his girlfriend's (Allison Williams) parents for the first time.

The Shape of Water continues its hot streak as its screenwriters Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor scored a nomination for Original Screenplay. Del Toro's latest film received multiple nominations in several different film awards such as the Golden Globes, the Critics' Choice Awards, and the Screen Actors Guild Awards. One of the biggest surprises of the award season was the inclusion of The Big Sick. The romantic drama, co-written by Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani, received a nomination for Original Screenplay. Rounding out the category was I, Tonya's Steven Rogers.

Adapted Screenplay Nominees

LGBT drama Call Me by Your Name received numerous nominations thanks to its screenwriter James Ivory, who adapted André Aciman's novel. Celebrated screenwriter Aaron Sorkin scored a nomination after bringing Molly Bloom's incredible life story, Molly's Game, to life. James Franco's The Disaster Artist continues to see both box office love and critics' admiration. The film's screenwriters, Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber, received a nomination for transferring Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell's The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside the Room, the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made to the silver screen.

Logan, which was Hugh Jackman's final adventure as the fan-favorite X-Man Wolverine, was a box office hit in 2017.  Logan's screenwriters Scott Frank, James Mangold, and Michael Green were awarded for their efforts with an Adapted Screenplay nomination. Rounding out the category was Virgil Williams and Dee Rees, who adapted Hillary Jordan's 2008 novel Mudbound for Netflix.

Documentary Screenplay Nominees

Only four documentaries were considered for this award. Theodore Braun's Betting on Zero, Brett Morgan's Jane, Alex Gibney's No Stone Unturned, and Barak Goodman's Oklahoma City received the nominations. Morgan's Jane, which highlights the life of celebrated anthropologist Jane Goodall, is the only documentary on this list that was shortlisted for the 2018 Oscar Best Documentary list.

See Now: Famous Actors Who Turned Down Iconic Movie Roles

© 2020 ENSTARS, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Real Time Analytics