The Los Angeles Films Critics Association is the latest organization to announce their selections for Best Films of 2017. The Los Angeles-based group issued its 17 awards and there were some clear frontrunners in the selection.

Call Me By Your Name Earns Frontrunner Status

Call Me By Your Name is emerging from the pack as the first frontrunner in the 2018 Oscars race. The Los Angeles Films Critics Association awarded the film its Best Picture and Best Director award to the film's director, Luca Guadagnino. Leading man Timothee Chalamet won his third Best Acting award this season for his portrayal as 17-year-old Elio Perlman. He edged out The Disaster Artist's James Franco, who came in second place in that race.

The Shape of Water Enters Oscars Race

Guillermo Del Toro's The Shape of Water also did particularly well at the Los Angeles Films Critics Association. Del Toro picked up the Best Director award, which he tied with Call Me By Your Name's Guadagnino. The film's lead actress, Sally Hawkins, edged out Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri's Frances McDormand to receive the organization's Best Actress award. The film's cinematographer, Dan Laustsen, also picked up the Best Cinematography award.

Dafoe, Peele, And Lady Bird Rack Up Awards

Actor Willem Dafoe received the association's Best Supporting Actor award for The Florida Project. Dafoe beat Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri's Sam Rockwell. Lady Bird's Laurie Metcalf earned the Best Supporting Actress as R&B singer Mary J. Blige came in second place for her performance in Mudbound.  Lady Bird director Greta Gerwig earned the association's New Generation award. Comedian and producer Jordan Peele won the association's Best Screenwriter for Get Out. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri's Martin McDonagh was the runner-up.

Other Winners And Surprises

The Breadwinner snatched the Best Animation award from box office darling Coco. Foreign films BPM (Beat Per Minute) and Loveless tied in the Best Foreign Language Film category. Faces Places won Best Documentary, while Lee Smith won Best Editing for Dunkirk.  Phantom Thread's Jonny Greenwood won the Best Music Score over The Shape of Water's Alexandre Desplat. Blade Runner 2049's Dennis Gassner received the Best Production Award.