Shonda Rhimes Shows: 'Scandal' Creator & Original 'SNL' Cast To Be Inducted Into TV Academy Hall of Fame [VIDEO]

Shondaland’s juggernaut success is getting major recognition.

TV Academy has announced the inductees for its 2018 Hall of Fame and Shonda Rhimes has made the cut!

Rimes, who is the brain behind several popular ABC television shows like Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, and How to Get Away With Murder, is among the greats who are getting the coveted salute, Page Six reported Thursday.

John Wells and art director and production designer Roy Christopher are also new inductees. The TV Academy will also honor the late Joan Rivers and the original cast of NBC’s Saturday Night Live: Dan Akroyd, John Belushi, Chevy Chase, Jane Curtin, Garrett Morris, Laraine Newman, and Gilda Radner.

“All of these individuals are innovators who have shaped television and left an indelible mark on the medium and our culture,” Chairman and CEO of the Television Academy, Hayma Washington, said. “We are honored to welcome the latest group of distinguished individuals and look forward to showcasing their impacts for future generations.”

Head of Television for WME and Chair of the Hall of Fame Selection Committee, Rick Rosen, also commended the selection.

“Television’s evolution can be attributed to the substantial work of numerous individuals,” he said. “It is a pleasure to honor a group whose contributions have had and will continue to have a powerful influence on our ever exciting and evolving industry.”

Producer Marcy Carsey; NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment Group chairman Bonnie Hammer; The Fred Silverman Company founder Fred Silverman; and former CBS Entertainment president Nina Tassler are also on the selection committee.

The ceremony is set for Nov. 15 at the Saban Media Center in the Television Academy.

Be sure to keep up with Enstars for more.

See Now: Famous Actors Who Turned Down Iconic Movie Roles

© 2021 ENSTARS, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Real Time Analytics